The inaugural Poetry Competition which was open to the 6th Class Students from the three parish schools; Kilanerin, Ballyfad and Ballythomas. From the 21 participants, there was a great selection of poetry for the Judges to go through and with the high standard of entries it made the decision to choose the winners all the more difficult. The theme for the poetry this year was the motto “Remembering Yesterday, Living Today, Creating Tomorrow”.

Congratulations to Jennifer Loughlin on winning the Poetry Competition 2011 and also to the runner-ups Patrick O’Connor, Éimear Gregory and Vivien Ryan.

Click here to view the PDF version in your browser window

With the success of this year’s competition, and the excitement shown by the participants and other students in the schools, it is hoped to make the Poetry Competition an annual event. With your continuing support and participation this will be made possible.

Thanks would like to thank all the 6th Class students who took the time to get creative and submitting their poems, and to their teachers for their time and effort. A special thanks to Catherine Boukhima (Community Secretary) for all her help.

Thanks to all those who helped to make the competition a great success, especially the sponsors with their generous contributions which allowed this booklet to get published. A final thanks to the Judges Matty Behan, Jennifer O’Sullivan and Damian Nash who had the tough task of going through all the entries and selecting the winners